Middle East & North Africa

The countries of the Middle East include Bahrain, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, the Palestinian Territories, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen. Countries in North Africa include Algeria, Libya, Morocco, and Tunisia.

These countries vary greatly, making the MENA region one of contradictions: democratic and authoritarian states border each other; deep roots of religion and peaceful teachings come up against ethnic and religious conflict; and oppression, a lack of opportunity, and violence live side-by-side with great wealth and natural resources.

Events & Activities


Iran Deal is Imperfect, But Decertification was a Mistake
No Coherent U.S. Policy in the Middle East

Jerrold D. Green

President & CEO, Pacific Council on International Policy

Hanan Dakhil

Research Associate, Canyon Capital Advisors

Shirin Lotfi

Nuclear Policy Researcher, Middle East

Jordan Reimer

Policy Analyst, RAND Corporation

Ali Ezzatyar

Lawyer, Foreign Service Officer

Antonella Caruso

Founder and Executive Director, LAMEDINA Institute
You Might also Like...: 

Terrorism, cyberattacks, and unmanned aerial warfare increasingly dominate the picture of national security and conflict today.

Find a Member

Find a Member

Get Involved

Get Involved